Canberra Centre Masthead

CBR Sport Awards 2017

Bronwen Stead

Last night’s 2017 CBR Sport Awards was a much awaited occasion among the Canberra sporting community.

Charlie Pickering amused the audience with his joy of being out of a 7pm PG time slot, and by the end of the evening proclaimed that he is all things CBR sport.

2017 has been a remarkable year for our community, with many shining achievements from our athletes on a local, national and international scale. The list of nominees for this year’s awards has highlighted the athletes, organisations and community members who’ve made outstanding contributions to the CBR Sport community. Minister for Sport, Yvette Berry recognized the amazing caliber of Canberra athletes and advised that gender equity in sport is the most important focus for her in her portfolio.

The Chairman of the Selection Committee Rob de Costella explained that the nominees serve as an inspiration to us all to be the best we can be. In their selection process the Committee looks beyond the awards and accolades to look at the nominees backgrounds and their stories, awarding those individuals that all of Canberra can be proud of.

BMX rider and local legend Caroline Buchanan can now add Athlete of the Year – Women’s Sport to her list of stellar achievements this year, including winning the 2017 Cranworks Ulitmate Pump Track Challenge. Cyclist Michael Matthews was awarded Athlete of the Year – Men’s Sport for winning the Tour de France green jersey, and Paralympian javelin thrower Jayden Sawyer was named Athlete of the Year – Para Sport following his record breaking throw at the World Para Ahtletics Championships in London.

A huge congratulations to all the award winners of the 2017 CBR Sport Awards:

  • Athlete of the Year – Men’s Sport – Michael Matthews (Cycling)
  • Athlete of the Year – Women’s Sport – Caroline Buchanan (BMX)
  • Athlete of the Year – Para Sport – Jayden Sawyer (Athletics)
  • Konica Minolta Team of the Year – ACT Schoolboys Rugby Union
  • WIN News Outstanding Service to Sport – Carmel Weatherburn (Netball)
  • People’s Sporting Champion presented by Canberra Milk – Cameron Crombie (Athletics)
  • Minister for Sport and Recreation’s Award for Inclusion – Canberra Region Rugby League
  • Minister for Sport and Recreation’s Award for Innovation – Canberra/Broulee Nippers Club
  • Minister for Sport and Recreation’s Award for Event Excellence – Capital Football
  • ActewAGL ACT Sport Hall of Fame
  • Peta MacKinnon – Hockey (full member)
  • Ben Hardy – Volleyball (full member)
  • Phil Brown – Basketball (associate member)
  • Paul Thompson – Rowing (associate member)

The guest speakers for the evening were Cas and Jonesy – two adventurers who shared their story of how they went from never having skied, to completing the longest unsupported polar expedition. They made the excellent comparison of themselves to the Jamaican Bobsled Team! Their story spoke of bravery and commitment, and they shared the wisdom: You can achieve so much more when you achieve these victories with other people.

Whatever your chosen sport or activity, you couldn’t walk away from the evening without feeling inspired to reach higher and do better, to find ways to give back to the community and think of ways to innovate to ensure all people in our community have access to sport.

Feature image via

Bronwen Stead

Bronwen loves to celebrate life and all things Canberra, which is why she is passionate about writing for HerCanberra and promoting the amazing people and activities that Canberra contains. She is a mother, wife and a creative with a passion for wellbeing and health. More about the Author