Undercurrent Masthead
woman reading book outside feature

Winners announced for the 2016 ACT Book of the Year Awards

HerCanberra Team

Frank Bongiorno’s The Eighties has been announced as the winner of the 2016 ACT Book of the Year Award at a ceremony last night at the ACT Writers Centre

The Minister for the Arts and Community Events Gordon Ramsay said that the Award recognises quality contemporary literary works by ACT based writers. The winner of the Award receives $10,000 with a prize of $2,000 for the highly commended author and $1,000 for shortlisted authors.


“In selecting the winning entry, the judging panel unanimously agreed that The Eighties encapsulates a decade through a readable blend of scholarship and memory,” Mr Ramsay said.

The Anchoress by Robyn Cadwallader received ‘highly commended’ in the Book of the Year category and was also awarded the People’s Choice Award for 2016. The Anchoress explores issues of gender, power and religion and the panel noted the book as an emotionally-engaging, assured debut novel. 

“There were 39 entries across fiction, non-fiction and poetry for this year’s awards which is a fantastic example of the creativity that exists in our community. 

“I would also like to congratulate this year’s shortlisted authors—Merlinda Bobis for Locust Girl, Subhash Jaireth for Moments, and Ann McGrath for Illicit Love—who have demonstrated the strength of our local writers.”

More information the ACT Book of the Year can be found at www.arts.act.gov.au


Her Canberra

Sometimes a story is bigger than one person...that's when the HerCanberra Team puts its collective head together to come up with the goods. Enjoy! More about the Author

UNVEILED 10 Leaderboard