Canberra talent in the RAW!

Heather Wallace

Here at HerCanberra we love supporting local talent and the nation’s capital always has so much to offer. That’s why it seemed a natural partnership to join forces with the RAWards. HerCanberra is proud to be a media sponsor of the 2013 Semi-Finalist Awards.

RAW is the biggest independent arts showcase in Australia, and this year more than 700 artists have participated in Performing Arts, Film, Photograph, Music, Fashion, Makeup, Hair, and Accessories. They’ve been part of an international arts extravaganza that has featured more than 15,000 artists from around the world.

It’s now time to find the top performer in each category and we want you to have your say!

Thirteen Australian cities are deciding who will be their semi-finalists. With a total of 20 nominees from Canberra, you can vote for your favourite.  Canberra’s semi-finalist awards are being coordinated by the gorgeous Sarina del Fuego, one of HerCanberra’s most fascinating women!

Voting is open from now until 11.59pm, Thursday 5 December.

To refresh your memory, or even to discover new artists, go to the links below. Samples of each artist’s work is on the RAW website, including sound tracks for the Music category. It’s a fantastic chance to discover local artists you can follow and enjoy even after the awards are over.

Some you will have read about on HerCanberra already, including our own Blondie Ink whose alter ego Samara Gentle is a nominee for the Makeup category. Tiffany Blue and Liz Lea, both of whom I recently saw and reviewed in the Short + Sweet Burlesque Festival, are also nominees.

We’re not biased though and sincerely wish all the nominees every success with both the Semi Finals and Finals! 

How to Vote

  1. Head on over to RAWartists.org/artists
  2. Select your city from the ‘select your market’ drop down menu and the artist’s craft, then press GO! Or, if you know the name of the artist you want to vote for, type their name in the search box and press GO!
  3. Click on the artist you want to vote for, and then click on ‘VOTE’ on their profile page.
  4. You have one vote per category each day during the voting period.
  5. Voting starts on Monday, 2 December at 12:01am and finishes on Thursday, 5 December at 11:59pm.

And the nominees are…

FILM

Sebastian Chan – www.rawartists.org/cbass-studios

K Gaundar – www.rawartists.org/sleepwalk

PHOTOGRAPHY

Brett Sargent – www.rawartists.org/brett-sargeant

Grace Costa – www.rawartists.org/gracecostacom

Loriana Cicchini – www.rawartists.org/https-loriana-cicchini-squarespace-com

David Burke – www.rawartists.org/orangedrummaboy

Doug Hall – www.rawartists.org/doughall

Brian Tam – www.rawartists.org/briantam

KBT Images – www.rawartists.org/wwwkbtimagescouk

Katery – www.rawartists.org/katerypictures

Technosapien – www.rawartists.org/techosapien

PERFORMING ART

Poncho Circus – www.rawartists.org/ponchocircus

Liz Lea – www.rawartists.org/lizlea

Tiffany Blue – www.rawartists.org/tiffanyblue

MAKE UP

Cassandra Lee – www.rawartists.org/wwwmakeupartistcanberracom

Madeine Makeup – www.rawartists.org/madeleinemakeup

Kimi Holzapfel – www.rawartists.org/kimiholzapfel

JVD Artistry – www.rawartists.org/jvdartistry

Samara Gentle Makeup Artist – www.rawartists.org/samaramua

MUSIC

Azim Zain – www.rawartists.org/azimzain

Mr Michael – www.rawartists.org/mrmichael

Amber Nichols – www.rawartists.org/ambernichols

HAIR

Sara Jayne Burke – www.rawartists.org/sarzmahal

Leslie Henshaw – www.rawartists.org/lesliehenshaw

FASHION

Kieran Stopp – www.rawartists.org/http-www-iheartthreads-com-au

Rockstars and Royalty – www.rawartists.org/rockstarsandroyalty

Annette Clarke – www.rawartists.org/http-www-rawartists-org-annette88

ACCESSORIES

Rustic Treasurers Jewellery – www.rawartists.org/rustictreasures

Vitreous Stone – www.rawartists.org/https-www-facebook-com-pages-vitreous-stone-247280158716285

Silly Filly – www.rawartists.org/sillyfilly

Seona Margaret – www.rawartists.org/seonamargaretdesigns

user

Heather Wallace

Heather’s career in arts and heritage PR spans 15 years, with highlights including working for Sean Connery at the Edinburgh International Film Festival and promoting Australia’s World Heritage places. Her blog, Myths and Misadventures, (http://mythsandmisadventures.blogspot.com.au/), is about life lessons we can learn from the Romans. You can follow her on Twitter @Missmythology. More about the Author