Telstra unveil ACT Business Women's Awards Finalists | HerCanberra

Everything you need to know about canberra. ONE DESTINATION.

Telstra unveil ACT Business Women’s Awards Finalists

Posted on

The Telstra Women’s Business Awards are one of the most prestigious ways in which ACT businesswomen are publicly applauded.

Telstra Chief Operations Officer and Telstra Business Women’s Awards Ambassador, Kate McKenzie, said ACT business women were excelling in a broad range of sectors.

“Now in their 21st year, the Telstra Business Women’s Awards not only celebrate women who have the courage to start their own business and lead their industries, but also offer them a platform to encourage others to challenge the status quo and think differently,” Ms McKenzie said.

“The 2015 ACT finalists join a long list of successful business women, whose unique and innovative approaches to leadership at state and local community levels, and in some cases, globally, continue to impress and inspire the Awards judges.”

The 19 finalists join TBWA Alumni including Department of Finance Deputy Secretary Jan Mason, CARE Australia Chief Executive Dr Julia Newton-Howes, and ACT Human Rights and Discrimination CommissionerDr Helen Watchirs.

Vanessa Nolan-Woods, General Manager Business & Private Banking and Women in Focus, CommBank, a long-term partner of the Telstra Business Women’s Awards, said: “The ACT Telstra Business Women’s Awards finalists are achieving extraordinary things.

 “This is exactly the mandate of Women in Focus – to support women to succeed across diverse industries and become positive role models for other women through connection and collaboration. Women in Focus is proud to support these awards and play a proactive part in encouraging future trailblazers.”

Finalists for the 2015 Telstra ACT Business Women’s Awards are:

Start-up Award

Katie Doherty                                        Solution Solution                                   Canberra

Katie Geus                                            Fudie                                                    Barton

Jessica May                                          Enabled Employment                            Canberra

Claire Naidu                                          Claire Naidu & Co Lawyers & Mediators Gungahlin

Joanna Richards                                   Solution Solution                                   Canberra



Nicole Damiani                                      Farmers Daughter                                  Yarralumla

Karen Porter                                          Solace Creations Double Glazing           Canberra

Jenni Tarrant                                         Bond Hair Religion                                Kingston

Jo Whithear                                           Canberra Reading Clinic             Lyneham


For Purpose and Social Enterprise

Philippa Moss                                       AIDS Action Council of the ACT Turner

Tara Taubenschlag                              Send Hope Not Flowers             Barton


Government and Academia

Jan Harris                                             The Treasury                                         Canberra

Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington     Australian National University                 Acton

Felicity McNeill                                      Australian Government Department of Health, Canberra                                    Phillip

Linda Spurr                                           Airservices Australia                              Canberra

Georgeina Whelan                                 JHC, Department of Defence                 Campbell Park


Corporate and Private

Melanie Andrews                       CIC Australia Limited                             Canberra City

Sue Levy                                       Goodwin Aged Care Services                Farrer

Sarah Valentine                         Raytheon Australia                                Canberra Airport


Young Business Women’s Award

Katie Geus                                            Fudie                                                    Barton

Joanna Richards                                   Solution Solution                                   Canberra


Winners of the 2015 ACT Telstra Business Women’s Awards will be announced on Friday 23 October in Canberra.

The ACT winners proceed to the national finals in Melbourne on 18 November.\

Feature image of Mia Klitsas courtesy of

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

© 2021 HerCanberra. All rights reserved. Legal.
Site by Coordinate.