Meet the 2018 Lifeline Women of Spirit Finalists | HerCanberra

Everything you need to know about canberra. ONE DESTINATION.

Meet the 2018 Lifeline Women of Spirit Finalists

Posted on

This year, eleven local women are being recognised as inspirational figures in Canberra.

The finalists in Lifeline Canberra’s 2018 Women of Spirit Awards were announced via social media this week, a formal recognition of just some of the great women who hold our community together. Lifeline Canberra CEO Carrie Leeson agrees that women of spirit are all around us, working tirelessly to give back to our community and expecting nothing in return. If the finalists are anything to go by, it must have been a tough choice narrowing the selection down from the hundreds of amazing women nominated.

“We started the Women of Spirit Awards in 2007 to shine a light on the amazing and inspirational women in our community and recognise their contributions,” Carrie explains. “From promoting self-acceptance and fundraising for cancer research, to composing beautiful music and working with vulnerable children, these eleven women are giving back to the Canberra community in selfless ways.

“Our annual Women of Spirit Awards recognise and celebrate outstanding women in our community; women who have overcome adversity, given back to the community and inspired others to do the same. I am pleased to announce the 2018 finalists, each who have warmed our hearts and deserve recognition for their amazing, and often tireless, work.”

The awards this year highlight the variety of women pushing for change, demonstrating the diverse ways local women work every day to give back.


  • Bree Winchester: Life and entertainment editor at the Canberra Times
  • Caitlin Figueiredo: Gender equality activist and founder of Jasiri Australia
  • Clare Sheehan: Court Advocate for the Domestic Violence Crisis Service and founder of GG Creative
  • Kymberlee Smith: Founder of Canberra & Surrounding Area Clubfoot Association


  • Alison Creagh CSC: Executive Director of Spirit of Anzac Centenary Experience, member of the Australian War Memorial Council, Non-Executive Director of The Hospital Research Foundation and The Repat Foundation and a committee member of the Australian Peacekeeping Memorial Project
  • Amanda Fintan: National Events and Special Projects Manager at Cure Brain Cancer
  • Fay Maddison: Creator of Natasha’s Wood series, founder and chair of Natasha’s Wood Foundation
  • Helen Ritchie: Love Your Sister charity fundraiser and volunteer
  • Nip Wijewickrema: Co-founder of GG’s Flowers, Social Entrepreneur and Speaker
  • Sally Greenaway: Australian composer and pianist
  • Yvonne Anthoney: Dainere’s Rainbow Brain Tumor Research Fund founder, fundraiser and advocate.

On Wednesday, 29 August, Lifeline Canberra will host the Women of Spirit Awards luncheon at the National Portrait Gallery to tell the stories of the wonderful women of spirit and give people across the region the opportunity to network in an inspired and friendly environment.

Lifeline Canberra invites the Canberra community to attend this luncheon and be part of a heart-warming and uplifting community event. For further information and to purchase luncheon tickets, visit Lifeline Canberra’s website.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

© 2022 HerCanberra. All rights reserved. Legal.
Site by Coordinate.